Below is my “yesterday,” dated 1/11/07, morning “short devotion” (TMS) :

“Do not love the world or anything in the world.  If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.  For everything in the world – the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does – comes not from the Father but from the world.” 1 John 2:15-16

That is no easy thing to do, as we are physically living in this world, dealing with worldly matters, whether big or small, everyday.  Endless pursuits and competitions of achievements/fame are probably typical “lifestyles” for everyone, especially for young professionals.  We become so attached to the world, even we may not notice about how “worldly” we are…

In the above verse, note the term “love” is used, which means you’re not just “liking” but having strong affections, and it is either toward our Father or the materialistic enjoyment.  We certainly know which to pick, but the question is:  Are we certain that we are loving our Father more than the world? 

I confess that I am not…  I do desire for real peace and joy in my heart everyday, but sometimes I seek those from my family’s stable lives.  NO! The source of  my inner peace and joy is – God, whom I depend on for every step of my life!  Praise to God that my (spiritual) life is up again!  Thanks Tin Tin! 

PS:  Friends, probably my above sharing may not make much sense to you (it’s getting late, and I’m too tired to organize my thoughts like an essay or something), but I am really encouraged by the TMS verse and want to share it with YOU! 

DCCF ppl, remember:  “… in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.” Proverbs 3:6

3 thoughts on “

  1. M_M_GF:  thanks for your encouragement!  And so do you, as I know you’re one good SIC!  So keep it up!  We’ll get together sometime, my friend…  Have a nice trip to LA next weekend…
    SYY:  Yes, indeed, my good BIC!  Proverb 3:5-6 is my favorite verse too, which definitely reminds us of God’s leading at ALL (good or bad) times in our daily lives.  Hey, that was too bad that I missed the chance to meet w/ you last time (around Christmas) in Davis/Sac…  We’ll schedule it out and see how things will go, and keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

